RSS

Wings series by Aprilynne Pike

27 Mar
  1. Wings (2009)
  2. Spells (2010)
  3. Illusions (UK: Wild) (2011)

I suspect I’m with the minority here, but I’m going to go with the UK covers. Even though there’s something… childish about them, IMHO they’re more magical and exciting than their US counterparts. At the same time the darker color scheme of US covers is darker which creates a more mystical effect.

I would have loved to display other international covers of this series but they’re incomplete and I’m known to be very particular that everything is displayed. So keep checking back 🙂

 
 

Tags:

4 responses to “Wings series by Aprilynne Pike

  1. graveyardsandgrasslands

    March 28, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    I’m from the UK and as I bought the first book with a UK cover I obviously had to complete the set with the same covers. I must admit that when I first picked up the book I did consider the covers to have a slightly adolescent feel but I quite like this.

    Having never seen the US covers in the flesh it’s hard to comment, but I would like to say that the UK covers are beautiful… the words are raised and the matt covers are embellished with sparkles and shiny almost holographic parts. Very pretty. They really do feel very ‘princess’ and very fairytale which I love.

    I have spent quite a while studying the covers for this series (mainly to make sure I ordered the correct books, what with the name changes and all!) and I do think I prefer the UK covers. I love the idea of the US covers and the idea of having beautiful and atmospheric photographs of the petals but I don’t actually like the photographs themselves… I do however LOVE the way the petals of the US ‘Wings’ form the shape of the faerie wings!

    I think my favourite from the US covers is ‘Illusions’ and my favourite from the UK covers is ‘Wings’ because of it’s uber holographicness in real life!

    It looks as though the UK cover for ‘Wild’ and ‘Destined’ are far too similar though… a sunset orange would be nice!!

    Anyway, thanks for your post… this is the first of yours that I have comes across but am intrigued by the concept and am off to click around!

    xx GnG xx

     
  2. graveyardsandgrasslands

    March 28, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Reblogged this on graveyards and grasslands and commented:
    Am currently reading the third book in this series and came across this post about the covers and just had to give my opinions (posted below) check out the post by ‘World of Covers’
    I’m from the UK and as I bought the first book with a UK cover I obviously had to complete the set with the same covers. I must admit that when I first picked up the book I did consider the covers to have a slightly adolescent feel but I quite like this.

    Having never seen the US covers in the flesh it’s hard to comment, but I would like to say that the UK covers are beautiful… the words are raised and the matt covers are embellished with sparkles and shiny almost holographic parts. Very pretty. They really do feel very ‘princess’ and very fairytale which I love.

    I have spent quite a while studying the covers for this series (mainly to make sure I ordered the correct books, what with the name changes and all!) and I do think I prefer the UK covers. I love the idea of the US covers and the idea of having beautiful and atmospheric photographs of the petals but I don’t actually like the photographs themselves… I do however LOVE the way the petals of the US ‘Wings’ form the shape of the faerie wings!

    I think my favourite from the US covers is ‘Illusions’ and my favourite from the UK covers is ‘Wings’ because of it’s uber holographicness in real life!

    It looks as though the UK cover for ‘Wild’ and ‘Destined’ are far too similar though… a sunset orange would be nice!!

    Anyway, thanks for your post… this is the first of yours that I have comes across but am intrigued by the concept and am off to click around!

    xx GnG xx

     
  3. Pandwen

    June 13, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    i bought the US covers simply because that was what was in the bookstore and when i started buying this series i had yet to start buying online. always had a soft spot for the UK covers though.

     
  4. Tammi ;3

    January 5, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    I have whole different covers. More black, and simple. I really love it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
